Psychology

Matthew Schirano

Contact Mr. Schirano for:

  • Help with research assignments and projects
  • Information literacy sessions

Books

  • Are Excellent background resources
  • Answer general questions about your topic

Help finding print and ebooks...

  • Tutorial on how to find print and ebooks in the library's catalog, main search page, and ebook collections.

Browse print books

  • Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
  • Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
KeywordCall # range
PsychoanalysisBF173-175.5
Psychological tests and testingBF176-176.5
Experimental psychologyBF180-198.7
Consciousness. CognitionBF309-499
Affection. Feeling. EmotionBF511-593
Psychology of sex. Sexual behaviorBF692-692.5
Developmental psychologyBF712-724.85

Selected ebook titles

Ebook Central

  • Stebnicki, M., Empathy Fatigue : Healing the Mind, Body, and Spirit of Professional Counselors, 2008.
  • Berg, R., Landreth, G., Fall, K., Group Counseling : Concepts and Procedures (4th Edition), 2006.
  • Goodman, J., Schlossberg, N., Anderson, M., Counseling Adults in Transition : Linking Practice with Theory (3rd Edition), 2006.

eBook Collection

  • Sandoval, J., Handbook of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention in the Schools, 2002.
  • Welfel, E., Ingersoll, R., The Mental Health Desk Reference, 2001.
  • Lemberg, R., Eating Disorders: A Reference Sourcebook, 1991.

Articles

  • Are Foreground resources
  • Answer detailed questions

Help finding articles...

  • Tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases.
  • How to find specific print and ejournals.

Psychology Databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, East Asia, Education, Engineering, Environment, Exercise, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
ScopusBiology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Counseling, History, Human Services, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Music, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Social Issues, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
ScienceDirectAccounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
PubMedAcupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, PsychologyVideo Tutorial
PsycINFO*Counseling, Human Resources, Human Services, Naturopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, SociologyVideo Tutorial
PsycARTICLESCounseling, Human Resources, Human Services, Naturopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, SociologyVideo Tutorial
JSTORAccounting, Biology, Communication, Counseling, Creative Writing, Design Management, East Asia, Education, ESL, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, History, Human Services, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Literature, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
Academic Search Premier*Audio Visual, Biology, Business, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Design Management, East Asia, Education, ESL, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, History, Human Services, Industrial Design, Interior Design, International Studies, Literature, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Social Issues, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Selected ejournal titles

  • The American Journal of Psychology – available from 1887
  • Developmental Psychology – available from 1969
  • Journal of Cross-cultural Psychology – available from 1999
  • Psychology and Psychotherapy – available from 1996
  • Radical Psychology – available from 1999 - 2008

Selected print journal titles

  • Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin
  • The Journal of Humanistic Psychology
  • Journal of Abnormal Psychology

Help finding audio/visual...

  • Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.

Selected Psychology Videos/DVDs

  • Discovering Psychology. Annenberg Media, 2001.
  • The World of Abnormal Psychology. The Annenberg / CPB Collection, 1992.
  • Kids and Stress. Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1993.

Selected psychology websites

APA (American Psychological Association)

Based in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States.

http://www.apa.org/

Enpsychlopedia

Similar to the search engine Wikipedia, Enpsychlopedia provides a simple searching interface for psychology-specific topics. The database behind the search includes over 40,000 psychology related internet resources.

http://enpsychlopedia.org/

NIMH (National Institute of Mental Health)

The NIMH website provides information on research initiatives in mental health, including project funding and research training. There is a section that is dedicated solely to grant development, how to apply for funding and the application and review process. Information on career development in the mental health field, small business research programs, professional meetings and conventions is also provided.

http://www.nimh.nih.gov/

PsychCentral

This website provides mental health and psychology resources that are available online. Topics covered include attention deficit disorder, depression, PTSD, schizophrenia, and eating disorders. Also included is a searching interface for locating a therapist in local areas.

http://psychcentral.com/resources/