Nursing

Books

Browse print books

  • Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
  • Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
KeywordCall # range
nursingRT 1 - RT 120
specialties in nursingRT 89 - RT 120

Selected ebook titles

Ovid Books

R2 Digital Library

Ebook Central

Articles

  • Are Foreground resources
  • Answer detailed questions

Help finding articles...

  • Tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases.
  • How to find specific print and ejournals.

Nursing Databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, East Asia, Education, Engineering, Environment, Exercise, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
UpToDateBiomedical Engineering, eBooks, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
ScienceDirectAccounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
R2 Digital LibraryChiropractic, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, Nursing, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
PubMedAcupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, PsychologyVideo Tutorial
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus CollectionNursingVideo Tutorial
Ovid BookseBooks, Nursing, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
Natural MedicinesAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, eBooks, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
JSTORAccounting, Biology, Communication, Counseling, Creative Writing, Design Management, East Asia, Education, ESL, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, History, Human Services, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Literature, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
The Cochrane LibraryAcupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
CINAHL with Full Text – Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature*Acupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician AssistantVideo Tutorial
Access MedicineAcupuncture, Audio Visual, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
Academic Search Premier*Audio Visual, Biology, Business, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Design Management, East Asia, Education, ESL, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, History, Human Services, Industrial Design, Interior Design, International Studies, Literature, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Social Issues, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Selected ejournal titles

Help finding audio/visual...

  • Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.

Selected Nursing Videos/DVDs

  • Examining the heart. Studio Three Productions. Mosby-Year Book.
  • Pneumonia all you need to know. Niederman, M.S. Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
  • Equipment and oxygen therapy. Berman, A. et al. Mosby.

Selected Nursing Websites

Interagency Collaborative on Nursing Statistics (ICONS)
Promotes the generation of data and research on the nursing workforce. Members of ICONS include representatives from numerous organizations and government agencies that have expressed a commitment to research about nurses, nursing education, and the nursing workforce through their missions, goals, or strategic plans.
http://www.iconsdata.org/

Merck Manual - Professional Version
Information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional

Nursing License Map
A simple guide to nursing licensure in your state, helping you to advance your nursing career.
http://nursinglicensemap.com/

RN to BSN Scholarships
Searchable directory of RN to BSN scholarships.
http://www.rntobsnonline.com/scholarships/

American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
Promotes excellence in nursing and health care globally through credentialing programs.
http://www.nursecredentialing.org/

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
http://www.ahrq.gov/

Nursing World (American Nuses Association/ANA)
The ANA, representing  the interests of the nation's 3.4 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations and its organizational affiliates, advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
http://www.nursingworld.org/

Sigma Theta Tau International - Honor Society of Nursing
The invitation-only Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, works to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service.
http://www.nursingsociety.org/

NCLEX-RN Test Prep

The Khan Academy has free NCLEX test prep question sets:
https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/nclex-rn

About PubMed

PubMed is a premiere (though not the only) biomedical article citation database. Created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), it contains more than 28 million citations - and growing.

Generally, citation databases contain only citations, information about available articles, not the full-text itself, though PubMed does make available a small amount of open-access full-text articles via PubMed Central. However, the Wahlstrom Library has worked with the NLM to enable the embedding of Link Resolvers (in our case, a purple and lavender rectangular button that says 'sfx' on it) onto the upper right of every abstract page on PubMed. These Link Resolvers check to see if the Wahlstrom Library has access to an individual article's full text from one of our many resources - even if PubMed Central does not - and if we do, it links you through to the full-text.

You will only see these Link Resolvers when you have authenticated yourself as a UB student/staff/faculty, either through the myUB portal login page, or via the library's login page. (If you forget to log in while at home, off campus, and go to PubMed on the open web, you will not see these Link Resolvers, and won't get nearly as much full-text.)


Tips on Using PubMed

PubMed has many features, and even several ways you can search it. It also has a controlled vocabulary, its indexing terms, called MeSH, which you may have to use for assignments along the way. Below are links to helpful information about using PubMed.

TBA

Contact the Health Science Liaison for: