Criminal Justice & Human Security

Books

  • Excellent background resources
  • Answer general questions about your topic

Help finding print and ebooks...

  • Tutorial on how to find print and ebooks in the library's catalog, main search page, and ebook collections.

Browse print books

  • Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
  • Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
KeywordCall # range
criminologyHV 6001 - HV 7220.5
crimes and offensesHV 6251 - HV 6773.5
criminal justice administrationHV 7231 - HV 9960

Selected ebook titles

Ebook Central

eBook Collection

Articles

  • Foreground resources
  • Answer detailed questions

Help finding articles...

  • Tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases.
  • How to find specific print and ejournals.

Criminal Justice Databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Audio Visual, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, Dissertations, East Asia, eBooks, Education, Engineering, Environment, ESL, Exercise, Fashion, General, Global Development, Graphic Design, Grey Literature, grey literature, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, News, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Reference, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
ProQuest Dissertations and ThesesCriminal Justice, Dissertations, East Asia, Education, Global Development, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, International Studies, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis)Accounting, Business, Business English, Communication, Criminal Justice, East Asia, Education, Global Development, Health Sciences, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, International Business, International Studies, Law, Management, Marketing, News, Reference, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
Legal Information Reference Center*Business, Business English, Criminal Justice, eBooks, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, International Business, Law, Management, Marketing, Reference, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference CenterCriminal Justice, Global Development, International Studies, Political ScienceVideo Tutorial
ICPSR – Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social ResearchCriminal Justice
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextCriminal Justice, LawVideo Tutorial
CQ ResearcherCriminal Justice, East Asia, Global Development, International Studies, Law, News, Social IssuesVideo Tutorial
Academic Search Premier*Audio Visual, Biology, Business, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Design Management, East Asia, Education, ESL, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, History, Human Services, Industrial Design, Interior Design, International Studies, Literature, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Social Issues, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
ABI/INFORM*Accounting, Audio Visual, Business, Business English, Communication, Criminal Justice, Design Management, East Asia, Fashion, Global Development, Health Sciences, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Management, Marketing, News, Political Science, Reference, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Help finding audio/visual...

  • Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.

Selected Criminal Justice Videos/DVDs

  • Crime & punishment in America. Quest Productions. 1996.
  • And Justice for All. Public Affairs Television. 1992.
  • Search and Seizure the Supreme Court and the Police Film Odyssey. 1992.

Selected Criminal Justice Websites

American Society of Criminology
An international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.

http://www.asc41.com/

National Criminal Justice Association
The representative of state, tribal and local criminal and juvenile justice practitioners, the NCJA works to promote a balanced approach to communities' complex public safety and criminal and juvenile justice system problems.

http://www.ncja.org/

United States Department of Justice
Tasked to Enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law, ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic, provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime, seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior, and ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.

https://www.justice.gov/

United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI)
A United Nations entity established in 1967 to support countries worldwide in preventing crime and facilitating criminal justice.

http://www.unicri.it/institute/

Interpol
The world’s largest international police organization, with 190 member countries, working to enable police around the world to work together.

http://www.interpol.int/

Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (CJCJ)
A nonprofit nonpartisan organization whose mission is to reduce society’s reliance on incarceration as a solution to social problems.

http://www.cjcj.org/index.html

Criminal Justice Policy Foundation (CJPF)
One of the oldest drug policy reform organizations in the United States. CJPF's mission is to educate the public about the impact of drug policy on the criminal justice system.

http://www.cjpf.org/

Criminal Justice Research Center
Sponsored by Ohio State University, the CJRS serves as a catalyst for and facilitates collaborative interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary research on crime, delinquency, and justice issues, including knowledge about the interrelationships among race, ethnicity, crime and justice. Includes Data Sets.

https://cjrc.osu.edu/

Vera Institute of Justice
Works to help build and improve justice systems that ensure fairness, promote safety, and strengthen communities.

http://www.vera.org/

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
A federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

https://www.ncjrs.gov/index.html

Homeland Security Digital Library
The U.S.A.'s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management, meant to strengthen the national security of the United States by supporting local, state, tribal, territorial and federal analysis, debate, and decision-making needs and to assist academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.

https://www.hsdl.org/

CT Uniform Crime Reports: Publications & Queriable Statistics
Publications and summary data from Crime In Connecticut -- the annual publication of the Connecticut Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program, maintained by the Connecticut State Police Crime Analysis Unit.

http://www.dpsdata.ct.gov/dps/ucr/ucr.aspx

U.S. Data and Statistics
Provides links to various official statistical information produced by the Federal Government.

https://www.usa.gov/statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

http://www.bjs.gov/

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.

http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/NACJD/

Erin Kelley

Contact Ms. Kelley for:

  • Help with research assignments and projects
  • Information literacy sessions