Health Sciences (Doctorate)

Books

  • Excellent background resources
  • Answer general questions about your topic

Selected ebook titles

Ebook Central

Public Health: The Development of a Discipline - From the Age of Hippocrates to the Progressive Era
Ed.: Dona Schneider and David E. Lilienfeld
2008

International Best Practices in Health Care Management
Ed.: Sandra C. Buttigieg, Cheryl Rathert, and Wilfried von Eiff
2015

Modeling and Simulation in the Medical and Health Sciences
John A. Sokolowski, Catherine M. Banks, John A Sokolowski, and Catherine M Banks
2011

R2 Library

Essential Clinical Procedures
Richard Dehn
2013

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Robert Porter
2018

The Case Manager's Handbook 6th ed.
Catherine Mullahy
2014

Articles

  • Foreground resources
  • Answer detailed questions

Health Science Databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
Handbook of Traditional Chinese MedicineAcupuncture, Biology, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Pharmacy
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, East Asia, Education, Engineering, Environment, Exercise, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
UpToDateBiomedical Engineering, eBooks, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
ScienceDirectAccounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
R2 Digital LibraryChiropractic, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, Nursing, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
PubMedAcupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, PsychologyVideo Tutorial
ProQuest Dissertations and ThesesCriminal Justice, Dissertations, East Asia, Education, Global Development, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, International Studies, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
Professional Development Collection*Education, Health SciencesVideo Tutorial
Natural MedicinesAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, eBooks, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis)Accounting, Business, Business English, Communication, Criminal Justice, East Asia, Education, Global Development, Health Sciences, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, International Business, International Studies, Law, Management, Marketing, News, Reference, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
HerbMedProAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, eBooks, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
ERIC – Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO)*Education, Grey Literature, Health SciencesVideo Tutorial
The Cochrane LibraryAcupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
CINAHL with Full Text – Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature*Acupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician AssistantVideo Tutorial
Access MedicineAcupuncture, Audio Visual, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
ABI/INFORM*Accounting, Audio Visual, Business, Business English, Communication, Criminal Justice, Design Management, East Asia, Fashion, Global Development, Health Sciences, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Management, Marketing, News, Political Science, Reference, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Selected ejournal titles

Advances in Health Science Education

Health Care Management Science (New York)

American Journal of Public Health

Statistical Methods in Medical Research

Selected Health Science Statistics Sources

 

National Center for Health Care Statistics
A rich source of data for researchers, teachers, and students who want to perform data analysis.
https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/nchs_for_you/researchers.htm

CDC Data & Statistics
Statistics organized by topic.
https://www.cdc.gov/datastatistics/index.html

United States Census Health Statistics
Provides up-to-date statistics—covering people and business—relating to health in America.
https://www.census.gov/topics/health.html

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Program Statistics
Detailed summary statistics on national health care, Medicare populations, utilization, and expenditures, as well as counts for Medicare-certified institutional and non-institutional providers.
https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/CMSProgramStatistics/

U.S. Data and Statistics
General government statistics portal.
https://www.usa.gov/statistics

Institute of Education Sciences
A leading source for rigorous, independent education research, evaluation and statistics.
https://ies.ed.gov/

U.S. Department of Education
Data and Statistics from the U. S. Department of Education.
https://www2.ed.gov/rschstat/landing.jhtml?src=image

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Occupational Outlook Handbook's job descriptions and outlook for Medical and Health Services Managers
https://www.bls.gov/ooh/management/medical-and-health-services-managers.htm

Selected Health Science Websites

American Medical Informatics Association
Promotes the science, education and profession of health care Informatics.
https://www.amia.org/

American Public Health Association
Advocates for science-based public health information, working to influence federal public health policies.
https://www.apha.org/

Association for Career and Technical Education - Health Science Education Division
Instructors, administrators, applied academics instructors, local and state supervisors, teacher educators and others who are dedicated to educating tomorrow's health care workers.
https://www.acteonline.org/hse/#.WWO2cmf9qbE

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Works to protect America from health, safety and security threats.
https://www.cdc.gov/

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine's EBM Tools
Develops, teaches and promotes evidence-based health care through a variety of methods.
http://www.cebm.net/category/ebm-resources/tools/

Clinical Trials.gov
Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, this site provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
https://clinicaltrials.gov/

Connecticut Department of Public Health
Promotes public health initiatives in CT.
http://www.ct.gov/dph/site/default.asp

Health Resources and Services Administration
The primary Federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
https://www.hrsa.gov

National Consortium for Health Science Education
A national partnership of individuals and organizations with a vested interest in health science education.
http://www.healthscienceconsortium.org/

World Health Organization
Directs and coordinates international health within the United Nations’ system, supporting government's public health policies and strategies.
http://www.who.int/en/

About PubMed

PubMed is a premiere (though not the only) biomedical article citation database.

The Wahlstrom Library Link Resolver checks to see if the Wahlstrom Library has access to the full text of an article and links to it.

Login through the library web page, especially while off campus, to make use of this feature.


Tips on Using PubMed

PubMed has many features, and even several ways you can search it. It also has a controlled vocabulary, its indexing terms, called MeSH, which you will have to use for assignments along the way. Below are links to helpful information about using PubMed.