Exercise & Fitness

Books

  • Excellent background resources
  • Answer general questions about your topic

Help finding print and ebooks...

  • Tutorial on how to find print and ebooks in the library's catalog, main search page, and ebook collections.

Browse print books

  • Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
  • Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
KeywordCall # range
sports, physical recreational activitiesGV
human anatomyQM
physiologyQP 1 - QP 345
nutritionRM 214 - RM 259

Selected ebook titles

Ebook Central

eBook Collection

Articles

  • Foreground resources
  • Answer detailed questions

Help finding articles...

  • Tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases.
  • How to find specific print and ejournals.

Exercise databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, East Asia, Education, Engineering, Environment, Exercise, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
ScienceDirectAccounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
R2 Digital LibraryChiropractic, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, Nursing, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
PubMedAcupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, PsychologyVideo Tutorial
The Cochrane LibraryAcupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
CINAHL with Full Text – Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature*Acupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician AssistantVideo Tutorial
AMED – The Allied and Complementary Medicine DatabaseAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Exercise, Naturopathic Medicine, Nutrition, PharmacyVideo Tutorial
Alt HealthWatchAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Exercise, Martial Arts, Naturopathic Medicine, Nutrition, PharmacyVideo Tutorial
Access MedicineAcupuncture, Audio Visual, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Help finding audio/visual...

  • Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.

Selected Exercise & Fitness Videos/DVDs

  • Tai Chi for Older Adults. Paul Lam. Wellspring Media. 1998.
  • Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation. William E Prentice. Mosby . 1993.
  • Sensory Motor Stimulation. Vladimír Janda Doc. MU Dr. Maria Vavrova; Joanne Bullock-Saxton. OPTP. 1994.

Selected Exercise & Fitness Websites

Medline Plus: Exercise & Fitness Information
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for consumer health information, and is produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/exerciseandphysicalfitness.html

American Society of Biomechanics
The ASB encourages and fosters the exchange of information and ideas among biomechanists working in different disciplines and fields of application.
http://www.asbweb.org/

Association for Applied Sports Psychology
The largest sport and exercise psychology professional association in North America, it promotes the extension of theory and research into the field to educate coaches, athletes, parents, exercisers, fitness professionals, and athletic trainers about the psychological aspects of their sport or activity.
http://www.appliedsportpsych.org/

National Strength and Conditioning Association
The NSCA supports and disseminates research-based knowledge and its practical application to improve athletic performance and fitness.
http://www.nsca.com/

American College of Sports Medicine
ACSM is the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world, dedicated to advancing and integrating scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science and sports medicine.
http://www.acsm.org/

Shape America - Society of Health and Physical Education Professionals
The largest organization of professionals involved in school-based health, physical education and physical activity who are dedicated to teaching and promoting active, healthy lifestyles.
http://www.shapeamerica.org/

American Physical Therapy Association
The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) is an individual membership professional organization representing more than 90,000 member physical therapists (PTs), physical therapist assistants (PTAs), and students of physical therapy. APTA seeks to improve the health and quality of life of individuals in society by advancing physical therapist practice, education, and research, and by increasing the awareness and understanding of physical therapy's role in the nation's health care system.
http://www.apta.org/

Women's Sports Foundation
Founded in 1974 by tennis legend, Billie Jean King, the Women's Sports Foundation is dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women through sports and physical activity.
http://www.womenssportsfoundation.org/

Muscle Physiology
Page containing content adaped from Skeletal Muscle Structure, Function, and Plasticity by Richard L. Lieber.
http://muscle.ucsd.edu/musintro/jump.shtml

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion - Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
Contains various materials promoting regular physical activity to improve overall health and fitness.
http://www.cdc.gov/physicalactivity/

About PubMed

PubMed is a premiere (though not the only) biomedical article citation database. Created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), it contains more than 28 million citations - and growing.

Generally, citation databases contain only citations, information about available articles, not the full-text itself, though PubMed does make available a small amount of open-access full-text articles via PubMed Central. However, the Wahlstrom Library has worked with the NLM to enable the embedding of Link Resolvers (in our case, a purple and lavender rectangular button that says 'sfx' on it) onto the upper right of every abstract page on PubMed. These Link Resolvers check to see if the Wahlstrom Library has access to an individual article's full text from one of our many resources - even if PubMed Central does not - and if we do, it links you through to the full-text.

You will only see these Link Resolvers when you have authenticated yourself as a UB student/staff/faculty, either through the myUB portal login page, or via the library's login page. (If you forget to log in while at home, off campus, and go to PubMed on the open web, you will not see these Link Resolvers, and won't get nearly as much full-text.)


Tips on Using PubMed

PubMed has many features, and even several ways you can search it. It also has a controlled vocabulary, its indexing terms, called MeSH, which you will have to use for assignments along the way. Below are links to helpful information about using PubMed.

Sahar Khan

Contact the Health Science Liaison for: