Engineering

Vacant

Contact the Instruction librarian for:

  • Help with research assignments and projects
  • Information literacy sessions

Books

  • Excellent background resources
  • Answer general questions about your topic

Help finding print and ebooks...

  • Tutorial on how to find print and ebooks in the library's catalog, main search page, and ebook collections.

Browse print books

  • Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
  • Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
KeywordCall # range
Engineering (General).  Civil engineering (General)TA1-2040
BioengineeringTA164
Mechanical engineering and machineryTJ1-1570
Electrical engineering.  Electronics.  Nuclear engineeringTK1-9971

Selected ebook titles

Ebook Central

  • Kreith, F., Goswami, Y., Handbook Series for Mechanical Engineering: CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering (2nd edition), 2005.
  • Lee, J.,  Biomedical Engineering Entrepreneurship, 2010.
  • Oklobdzija, V., Computer Engineering Handbook: Digital Design and Fabrication: Digital Systems and Applications (2nd edition), 2007.

eBook Collection

  • Mathews, J., Howell, R.,  Complex Analysis for Mathematics and Engineering, 2000.
  • Fields, R., Entrepreneurial Engineer: Starting Your Own High-tech Company, 1999.
  • Gibilisco, S.,  Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics, 2001.

Articles

  • Foreground resources
  • Answer detailed questions

Help finding articles...

  • Tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases.
  • How to find specific print and ejournals.

Engineering Databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, East Asia, Education, Engineering, Environment, Exercise, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
ScienceDirectAccounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
Mobile & Pervasive Computing LecturesComputer Science, Engineering, Technology Management
IEEE XploreBiomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Engineering, Industrial Design, Mathematics, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
FAITS – Faulkner Advisory for IT StudiesBiomedical Engineering, Business, Business English, Computer Science, Engineering, Grey Literature, Industrial Relations, International Business, Knowledge Management, Management, Marketing, Reference, Technology Management
Engineering VillageBiomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Engineering, Grey Literature, Industrial Design, Knowledge Management, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital CollectionEngineering, Grey Literature, Mechanical Engineering
ACM Digital LibraryBiomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Engineering, Grey Literature, Industrial Design, Mathematics, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Selected ejournal titles

  • Advances in Electrical and Computer Engineering – available from 2007
  • Biomedical Engineering – available from 1997
  • Journal of Engineering and Applied Sciences – available from 2006
  • Quality Engineering – available from 2001

Selected print journal titles

  • The Engineering Economist
  • ACM Transactions on Software Engineering and Methodology
  • Manufacturing Engineering
  • Tamkang Journal of Science and Engineering

Help finding audio/visual...

  • Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.

Selected Engineering Videos/DVDs

  • Manufacturing Technology. Meridian Education Corporation, 1994.
  • Boing Reinvents the Airplane: An Interview with Philip M. Condit, President, the Boing Company. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 1994.
  • Rapid Prototyping. Society of Manufacturing Engineers, 2003.

Selected Engineering Websites

Discover Engineering
Excellent introduction to engineering concepts for students

http://www.discoverengineering.org/

Engineering.com
News, information and resources (including job listings) for engineers.

http://www.engineering.com/

efunda
Engineering formula resource.

http://www.efunda.com/formulae/formula_index.cfm

Eng-Tips Forums
Discussion forums for engineering professionals.

http://www.eng-tips.com/

FreePatentsOnline.com
Powerful online patent search engine.

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/

Fun Engineering
Maintained by Prof. Jim McGovern of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the Dublin Institute of Technology.

http://www.fun-engineering.net/

GlobalSpec
Listing of engineering products and suppliers.

http://www.globalspec.com/

MathGV - Function Plotting Software
A freeware mathematical function graphing program for all types of common scientific and engineering applications.

http://mathgv.com/

The Engineering Toolbox
Resources, Tools and Basic Information for Engineering Professionals.

http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/