Chinese Medicine & Herbology

Books

Browse print books

  • Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
  • Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
KeywordCall # range
anatomyQM 1 - QM 695
physiologyQP1 - QP 981
pharmacologyRM 1 - RM 950
medical ethicsR 723 - RM 726
patholgyRB 1 - RB 214
public healthRA 421 - RA 790.95
nutritionRM 214 - RM 259
taijiquanGV 481 - GV 506
qigongRA 781.8 - RM 727
buddismBQ 1 - BQ 9800
confucianismBL 1830 - BL 1883
taoismBL 1899 - BL 1942.85
acupunctureRM 184
chinese medicine - diagnosisRC 71 - RC 73.3
chinese medicine - physical therapyRM 7231 - RM 723
chinese medicine - materia medicaRS 160 - RS 190

Selected ebook titles

Ebook Central

eBook Collection

Articles

  • Foreground resources
  • Answer detailed questions

Help finding articles...

  • Tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases.
  • How to find specific print and ejournals.

Chinese Medicine Databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
Handbook of Traditional Chinese MedicineAcupuncture, Biology, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Pharmacy
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, East Asia, Education, Engineering, Environment, Exercise, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
ScienceDirectAccounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
PubMedAcupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, PsychologyVideo Tutorial
Natural MedicinesAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, eBooks, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
HerbMedProAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, eBooks, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
The Cochrane LibraryAcupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
CINAHL with Full Text – Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature*Acupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician AssistantVideo Tutorial
AMED – The Allied and Complementary Medicine DatabaseAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Exercise, Naturopathic Medicine, Nutrition, PharmacyVideo Tutorial
Alt HealthWatchAcupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Exercise, Martial Arts, Naturopathic Medicine, Nutrition, PharmacyVideo Tutorial
Access MedicineAcupuncture, Audio Visual, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, ReferenceVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Selected ejournal titles

Chinese Medicine - Available from 2006
Chinese Journal of Integrative Medicine - Available from 1997
Journal of Chinese Medicine - Available from 2005

Selected print journal titles

Journal of Traditional Chinese Medicine
The American Journal of Chinese Medicine
Journal of Chinese Medicine

Help finding audio/visual...

  • Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.

Selected Chinese Medicine Videos/DVDs

  • China acupuncture & moxibustion China zhenjiuology. De-Shen Wang; Stephen Hsu. Shanghai College of Traditional Chinese Medicine. 1991.
  • Finding the acupuncture point. Wen Huabing; Douglas Eisenstark; Al Stone. Eisenstark. 2003.

Selected Chinese Medicine Websites

Traditional Chinese Medicine World Foundation
A not-for-profit organization dedicated to educating the public and healthcare practitioners about classical traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) and natural self-healing. The Foundation’s educational efforts focus on the full system of TCM, which includes the following practice areas: herbal therapy, acupuncture, acupressure, internal martial arts, the prescription of foods for healing, and Chinese psychology. The educational components of the Foundation are geared toward the general public and healthcare professionals as well as organizations from both the mainstream and complementary and alternative medicine communities.
http://www.tcmworld.org/

Traditional Chinese Medicine Information Page
An introduction to the history, basic concepts, and fundamentals of Traditional Chinese Medicine.
http://www.tcmpage.com/

Shen Nong Traditional Chinese Medicine
The mission of Shen-Nong Ltd. is to dispel the mistruths about Traditional Chinese Medicine and to help individuals make informed healthcare choices by imparting clear and concise information about TCM's uses, benefits and cultural heritage.
http://www.shen-nong.com/eng/front/index.html

Traditional Chinese Medicine: An Introduction
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health's informational page about Traditional Chinese medicine.
https://nccih.nih.gov/health/whatiscam/chinesemed.htm

American Association of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (AAAOM)
AAAOM is a national membership organization of acupuncture and Oriental medicine (AOM) practitioners and supporters that serves to advance the profession and practice of AOM.
http://www.aaaomonline.org/

Yin Yang House Acupuncture and Chinese Medicine Blog
Offers educational posts about Chinese Medicine and related systems.
https://yinyanghouse.com/

Chinese Medicine Specimen Database
Jointly created by the Hong Kong Baptist University's School of Chinese Medicine and the university's library, this database is meant to help promote awareness of the variety, authenticity, and effective use of Chinese Medicines.
http://library.hkbu.edu.hk/electronic/libdbs/scm_specimen.html

About PubMed

PubMed is a premiere (though not the only) biomedical article citation database. Created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), it contains more than 28 million citations - and growing.

Generally, citation databases contain only citations, information about available articles, not the full-text itself, though PubMed does make available a small amount of open-access full-text articles via PubMed Central. However, the Wahlstrom Library has worked with the NLM to enable the embedding of Link Resolvers (in our case, a purple and lavender rectangular button that says 'sfx' on it) onto the upper right of every abstract page on PubMed. These Link Resolvers check to see if the Wahlstrom Library has access to an individual article's full text from one of our many resources - even if PubMed Central does not - and if we do, it links you through to the full-text.

You will only see these Link Resolvers when you have authenticated yourself as a UB student/staff/faculty, either through the myUB portal login page, or via the library's login page. (If you forget to log in while at home, off campus, and go to PubMed on the open web, you will not see these Link Resolvers, and won't get nearly as much full-text.)


Tips on Using PubMed

PubMed has many features, and even several ways you can search it. It also has a controlled vocabulary, its indexing terms, called MeSH, which you will have to use for assignments along the way. Below are links to helpful information about using PubMed.

Sahar Khan

Contact the Health Science Liaison for: