Biology databases

NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial
Handbook of Traditional Chinese MedicineAcupuncture, Biology, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Pharmacy
oaFindrAccounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Audio Visual, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, Dissertations, East Asia, eBooks, Education, Engineering, Environment, ESL, Exercise, Fashion, General, Global Development, Graphic Design, grey literature, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, News, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Reference, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions
ScopusBiology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Counseling, History, Human Services, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Music, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Social Issues, Sociology, World Religions
Science Reference Center*BiologyVideo Tutorial
ScienceDirectAccounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology ManagementVideo Tutorial
PubMedAcupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, PsychologyVideo Tutorial
JSTORAccounting, Biology, Communication, Counseling, Creative Writing, Design Management, East Asia, Education, ESL, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, History, Human Services, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Literature, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
Academic Search Premier*Audio Visual, Biology, Business, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Design Management, East Asia, Education, ESL, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, History, Human Services, Industrial Design, Interior Design, International Studies, Literature, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Social Issues, Sociology, World ReligionsVideo Tutorial
NameCategoriesVideo Tutorial

Selected ejournal titles

  • The American Naturalist – available from 1867 - 1922
  • Biologist – available from 2001
  • Microbiological reviews – available from 1937
  • Plant species biology – available from 1996
  • Zoosystematics and Evolution – available from 1996

Selected print journal titles

  • Advances in Marine Biology
  • Evolutionary Biology
  • Progress in Biophysics and Molecular Biology

Help finding articles...

The link above brings you to a tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases, and how to find specific journal titles.

Browse print books

  • Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
  • Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
KeywordCall # range
Biology (General)QH301-705.5
EvolutionQH359-425
GeneticsQH426-470
ReproductionQH471-489
LifeQH501-531
EcologyQH540-549.5
CytologyQH573-671
Economic BiologyQH705-705.5

Selected ebook titles

Ebook Central

  • Arora, M., Kania, C., Organic Evolution, 2009.
  • Grand, N., Comprehensive Dictionary of Biology, 2008.
  • Anderson, M., Introduction to Biology: Closer Look at Living Things, 2011.

eBook Collection

  • Coen, E., The Art of Genes: How Organisms Make Themselves, 1999.
  • Hardcastle, V., Where Biology Meets Psychology: Philosophical Essays, 1999.
  • Ball, P., The Self-made Tapestry: Pattern Formation in Nature, 1999.

Help finding print and ebooks...

  • Tutorial on how to find print and ebooks in the library's catalog, main search page, and ebook collections.

Selected Biology Websites

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

The latest news from the international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association.
http://www.aaas.org/news/

Animal Diversity Web

An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification and conservation biology from the University of Michigan.
http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/

BioInteractive

HHMI's interactive, free resources for biology instructors and students.
http://www.hhmi.org/biointeractive/

BioSci

Website listing out the bionet USENET newsgroups and parallel e-mail lists used by biological scientists worldwide.
http://www.bio.net/

Cell and Molecular Biology Online

An informational portal for cell and molecular biologists.
http://cellbio.com/

Cells Alive!

The result of 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. Includes stock video and still images available for education-related, licensed use.
http://www.cellsalive.com/

Learn.Genetics

Educational materials from the University of Utah on genetics, bioscience and health topics, designed to be used by students, teachers and members of the public. The materials meet selected US education standards for science and health.
http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/

MarineBio

The non-profit organization's online educational site containing information about ocean life, marine biology, and marine conservation.
http://marinebio.org/

Microbe Library

A peer reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology.
http://www.microbelibrary.org/

NatureServe Explorer

Online encyclopedia with more than than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, including particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
http://www.natureserve.org/explorer/index.htm

PLANTS Database

Standardized information from the USDA about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
http://plants.usda.gov/java/

The Biology Project

The University of Arizona's interactive online resource for learning biology.
http://www.biology.arizona.edu/

Tree of Life

A collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors.
http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html

WildFinder

An interactive tool that visualizes the global distribution of thousands of species that roam the Earth.
http://worldwildlife.org/pages/wildfinder

Help finding audio/visual...

  • Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.

Selected Biology Videos/DVDs

  • The Biology of Bacteria. BioMedia Associates. Projected Learning Programs. 1979.
  • Biology Concepts: Modern Genetics. Goodman, H., Sutton, W., Morgan, T. Educational Activities Video. 1991.
  • Men, Women and the Sex Difference. Stossel, J., et al. Films for the Humanities. 1995.

Sahar Khan

Contact the Health Sciences Librarian for:

  • Help with research assignments and projects
  • Information literacy sessions