- Excellent background resources
- Answer general questions about your topic
- Help (general tutorial) finding print and ebooks...
Browse print books
- Find shelves on 3rd floor with call number ranges below.
- Books within these call number ranges are organized by subject, so you can find other related books.
|Keyword||Call # range|
|oriental medicine||R581 – RM602|
Selected ebook titles
- World Health Organization, Acupuncture: Review and Analysis of Reports on Controlled Clinical Trial, 2002.
- Mackenzie, Elizabeth R. & Rakel, Birgit, Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Older Adults:
A Guide to Holistic Approaches to Healthy Aging, 2006.
- Leung, Ping-Chung & Xue, Charlie Chang-Li, Chinese Medicine: Modern Practice, 2005.
- Liu, Cheng-tsa'ai & Hua, Ka, A Study of Daoist Acupuncture & Moxibustion, 1999.
- Gittleman, Ann Louise, How to Stay Young and Healthy in a Toxic World, 1999.
- Bratman, Steven, The Alternative Medicine Sourcebook: A Realistic Evaluation of Alternative Healing Methods, 1999.
- Foreground resources
- Answer detailed questions
- Tutorial on how to find articles using the library's main search page and individual subject databases.
- How to find specific print and ejournals.
|Handbook of Traditional Chinese Medicine||Acupuncture, Biology, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Pharmacy|
|oaFindr||Accounting, Acupuncture, Agriculture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Business, Business English, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Communication, Computer Science, Counseling, Creative Writing, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Design Management, East Asia, Education, Engineering, Environment, Exercise, Fashion, Global Development, Graphic Design, Health Sciences, History, Human Resources, Human Services, Humanities, Industrial Design, Industrial Relations, Interior Design, International Business, International Studies, Knowledge Management, Law, Literature, Management, Marketing, Martial Arts, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Laboratory Science, Music, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Philosophy, Physician Assistant, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Science, Social Issues, Sociology, Technology, Technology Management, World Religions|
|ScienceDirect||Accounting, Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Computer Science, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Engineering, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Knowledge Management, Mathematics, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology, Technology Management||Video Tutorial|
|PubMed||Acupuncture, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Counseling, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Human Services, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Psychology||Video Tutorial|
|Natural Medicines||Acupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, eBooks, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Physician Assistant, Reference||Video Tutorial|
|HerbMedPro||Acupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, eBooks, hs-mono, Naturopathic Medicine, Physician Assistant, Reference||Video Tutorial|
|The Cochrane Library||Acupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Grey Literature, Health Sciences, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Reference||Video Tutorial|
|CINAHL with Full Text – Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature*||Acupuncture, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, Exercise, Health Sciences, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant||Video Tutorial|
|AMED – The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database||Acupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Exercise, Naturopathic Medicine, Nutrition, Pharmacy||Video Tutorial|
|Alt HealthWatch||Acupuncture, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Exercise, Martial Arts, Naturopathic Medicine, Nutrition, Pharmacy||Video Tutorial|
|Access Medicine||Acupuncture, Audio Visual, Biomedical Engineering, Botanical Medicine, Chinese Medicine, Chiropractic, Dental Hygiene, eBooks, Exercise, Health Sciences, hs-mono, Medical Laboratory Science, Naturopathic Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physician Assistant, Reference||Video Tutorial||Name||Categories||Video Tutorial|
Selected ejournal titles
- Acupuncture & Electro-Therapeutics Research – 1995-present
- Clinical Acupuncture and oriental Medicine - 1999 - 2003
- World Journal of Acupuncture-Moxibustion - 2012 - present
Selected print journal titles
- Acupuncture Today
- Oriental Medicine Journal
- Tutorial on how to find films, CDs, and other audio and visual resources in the library's catalog and online resources.
Selected Acupuncture Videos/DVDs
- Finding the Acupuncture Points. Huabeng, W., Eisenstark, D., Stone, A. Eisenstark. 2003.
- Deeper Pathways of the Web. Shima, M, Choplink, I, Smith, F. JAAF Productions. 1997.
- China Acupuncture & Moxibustion China Zhenjiuology: A Series of Video Tape [sic]. Wang, D., Hsu, S. Meditalent Enterprises. 1991.
Selected Acupuncture Websites
The Connecticut Society of Acupuncture and Oriental medicine (CSAOM)
A non-profit, professional organization supporting Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, its practitioners and students in the state of Connecticut.
Connecticut Department of Public Health Acupuncture Licensing
Information about how to obtain an Acupuncture License in the state of Connecticut.
American Academy of Medical Acupuncture
Promotes the integration of concepts from traditional and modern forms of acupuncture with Western medical training in order to synthesize a more comprehensive approach to health care.
The Society for Acupuncture Research (SAR)
Promotes, advances and disseminates scientific inquiry into Oriental medicine systems, which include acupuncture, herbal therapy and other modalities. They value quantitative and qualitative research addressing clinical efficacy, physiological mechanisms, patterns of use and theoretical foundations.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
The Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
International Council of Medical Acupuncture and Related Techniques (ICMART)
A non-profit making international organization comprising more than 80 medical acupuncture societies worldwide which promotes the concept of evidence-based medicine with respect to efficacy, safety and cost effectiveness applied to acupuncture and related techniques.
The International Association for the Study of Traditional Asian Medicine (IASTAM)
Promotes and encourages the study of traditional Asian medicine, including both the ‘classical’ systems and local traditions, in all their aspects - historical, philosophical, philological, anthropological, sociological, and scientific.
PubMed is a premiere (though not the only) biomedical article citation database. Created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), it contains more than 28 million citations - and growing.
Generally, citation databases contain only citations, information about available articles, not the full-text itself, though PubMed does make available a small amount of open-access full-text articles via PubMed Central. However, the Wahlstrom Library has worked with the NLM to enable the embedding of Link Resolvers (in our case, a purple and lavender rectangular button that says 'sfx' on it) onto the upper right of every abstract page on PubMed. These Link Resolvers check to see if the Wahlstrom Library has access to an individual article's full text from one of our many resources - even if PubMed Central does not - and if we do, it links you through to the full-text.
You will only see these Link Resolvers when you have authenticated yourself as a UB student/staff/faculty, either through the myUB portal login page, or via the library's login page. (If you forget to log in while at home, off campus, and go to PubMed on the open web, you will not see these Link Resolvers, and won't get nearly as much full-text.)
Tips on Using PubMed
PubMed has many features, and even several ways you can search it. It also has a controlled vocabulary, its indexing terms, called MeSH, which you will have to use for assignments along the way. Below are links to helpful information about using PubMed.
- Wahlstrom Library 316
Contact the Health Science Liaison for:
- Help with research assignments and projects
- Information literacy sessions
- Specialized software training
- Subscribe to our monthly 'Health Science Resources @ Your Library' e-mail newsletter
- Health Science Resources @ Your Library newsletter Archives