Articles

Articles are good sources of:

  • specific
  • detailed
  • more current
  • foreground

information.

Find Articles Using OneSearch

OneSearch allows you to search for articles, and is good for general searches across multiple subjects. For precise searching, you will want to use individual subject databases.

Please note that not all library resources are indexed in OneSearch. The library has many more articles that you can find by searching individual databases.

  • Go to the Library's home page and locate the OneSearch box.
  • Type search terms into the search box and click 'Search'.
  • One next page, select the 'Articles' tab.
  • If required by your assignment, narrow your search to only include peer reviewed articles by clicking 'Peer-reviewed' under 'Availability' on the left.
  • Click the 'Details' tab to see the article's abstract when provided.
  • To access the full text of the article, click 'Full text available' or click on the article's title.
  • In the window that appears, you may see one or more Full Text Options. Choose one of the options to access the full text by clicking 'Click for full text.'
  • You will be taken to the full text of the article. In some cases, you will be taken to the database that holds the article, but not directly to the full text. In this case, you must find the article in that database by searching for the title or finding it by the year, issue, volume, and page number.
  • If you ever receive an error message or experience any difficulties when trying to access an article, contact us at reference@bridgeport.edu. Please give us the citation for the article and tell us about the problem. We will work to fix the problem or assist you in getting the full text as quickly as possible.

Find Articles Using Databases

OneSearch is great for general searches, but if your topic is fairly specific you will want to utilize an individual database instead. Below are instructions on how to locate the list of individual databases.

To start, go to the Library homepage, look under the 'Research' section of the menu and click on 'Databases'.

You can look through an alphabetized list of databases which includes a small search box to filter databases by specific subjects. Keep in mind that your topic may be related to multiple subjects. This is not a bad thing! It means you may want to run searches in multiple databases, because each might provide useful resources.

Click on the title of the database to access it. You will notice some databases have links to tutorial videos. If you are having difficulty using a database, or have never used it before and would like an introduction, these tutorials are an excellent place to start. As always, you can ask a Librarian for assistance in using databases and conducting research.

Searching Academic Search Premier
Searching JSTOR

Find Articles Using eJournal Finder

eJournal Finder allows you to search the titles of online journals that you have access to through the library.

Are you trying to find a specific article? Do you have the citation?

Citation
McCartney, J. A., Stevens, N. J., & O’Connor, P. M. (2014). The Earliest Colubroid-Dominated Snake Fauna from Africa: Perspectives from the Late Oligocene Nsungwe Formation of Southwestern Tanzania. Plos ONE, 9(3), 1-17. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0090415

  • Go to eJournal Finder
  • Search for the journal's title: Plos ONE
    (not the article's title: The Earliest Colubroid-Dominated Snake Fauna from Africa: Perspectives from the Late Oligocene Nsungwe Formation of Southwestern Tanzania).
  • If the library provides access to this journal, you will see it in the list of search results. If we do not provide access to this journal, you can request the article you are searching for through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Click on the journal's title and a new window will open.
  • Click 'Click for full text' in one of the options available to be taken to the journal.
  • You can then search for your article by title or by year, volume, issue, and page number.

Browse through a specific journal

If you would like to read or browse through a journal, follow the steps above to be taken to the journal and browse through the articles.

Most of our articles can be found as digital resources online, but we still have some print journals. These can be found on the 4th Floor.

Find Print (Physical) Journals Using OneSearch

  • On library main page, type either the name of a journal, or a general search term, in the OneSearch search box and run your search.
  • On the next page, choose the 'Articles/Journals' tab above the search box there.

  • In the list available below, choose 'Journals'.
  • Click Search.
  • Your results will now be a listing of print journals related to your search term.
  • To see which issues we have of these print journals, click on the 'Locations' tab below each result to see our holdings, to see if we have the year/issue you want.

  • These journals will be shelved alphabetically by title on the 4th floor.